A Singapore Government Agency Website

Manage user groups for Confluence

Subscription Admins (SAs) and Project Admins (PAs) can manage user access and permissions for Confluence spaces using User groups.

Prerequisites

Ensure the following:

  • You are a Subscription Admin (SA) for the subscription, or a Project Admin (PA) for a SHIP-HATS project within the subscription.
  • You have identified the user groups to add or remove. See View user groups.
  • Users in the group have been provisioned with an Atlassian - Confluence licence under a SHIP-HATS subscription.
    See Provision Atlassian - Confluence) licences.

Steps

  1. In Console, go to Products > SHIP-HATS, and select the required subscription to open the Workspace.

    For detailed steps, see Access Workspace.

    console-manage-confluence-space

  2. Click Tools > Confluence.

  3. Select the required SHIP-HATS project.

  4. Click the ellipsis (…) next to the Confluence space, then select Manage.

    manage-confluence-users

  5. Go to the Manage groups tab to assign user groups, update permissions for exisiting groups or remove groups.

  1. Select the User group you want to assign.

  2. Assign the required permission(s) to this user group.

    assign-user-grp

  3. Click Submit.

  1. Select the user group assigned to this space.

    Displays the existing permissions provisioned to this user group.

  2. Update the permissions as required.

    modify-user-grp-permissions

  3. Click Submit.

Remove a user group if it no longer requires access to this space. You can either remove its permissions from this space only, or delete the group entirely.

If you are not sure whether the group is used elsewhere, remove the permissions assigned to this group for this Confluence space.

  1. Select the user group assigned to this space.
    This displays the existing permissions provisioned to the group.

  2. Remove all permissions assigned to the group.

    remove-user-grp

  3. Click Submit.


If you are sure this group is not used elsewhere, you can Delete user groups.

Things to note

  • All users in a group automatically inherit the roles and permissions assigned to the group for the space.
  • Assigning a group grants users access to the Confluence space. It does not provision any licences.
  • To revoke access, remove users from the group or update group’s permissions.
  • Removing permissions from a group revokes access only for this Confluence space.
  • If users still hold an Atlassian licence under SHIP-HATS, they may continue accessing other Jira or Confluence spaces within the SHIP-HATS environment.
Chat with me!
Bot Launcher